top of page

ABOUT US

Can Cavall Blau:
a family farm 

In the quiet and rural interior of Mallorca between Sencelles and Binissalem, we have been cultivating an approx. 4 hectare piece of land since 2017. In addition to our horse breeding, we cultivate vines, olives, almonds, a variety of fruit trees and vegetables. We attach particular importance to the welfare of our animals as well as a sustainable use of resources.

20211122_124237.jpg

OUR HISTORY

In 2017 we took over our finca after it had been largely unmanaged for more than 10 years. It was the ideal place for our horses, which, in addition to water from the finca’s own well, found plenty of shade under old holm oaks. And also for us, who were (and still are) fascinated by the wonderful tranquility and the fantastic view over the neighboring vineyards into the Tramuntana.

After numerous discussions with our neighbors, who have been farming their fincas for many decades, as well as the intensive preoccupation with sustainable resource use and organic farming, we have decided to manage the finca according to biological principles and in small parts with the cultivation of different cultures, as was traditionally customary on Majorca .

Today, in addition to around 4,000 vines of the autochthonous variety Mantonegro and of international variety Merlot, more than 20 different tree species grow here, a total of more than 500 trees. In addition to olives (Arbequina and Picual) and almonds, various types of citrus (sweet oranges, bitter oranges, grapefruits, tangerines, lemons, limes, bergamots), numerous pomegranate trees and other fruit trees, as well as rarities such as an old mulberry tree or "real" pines. Our plants are only fertilized with compost made from our own horse manure. There is enough space between the trees for our chickens, some vegetable patches and our horses can also find fresh grass to graze here in the winter months.

In cooperation with small, local producers, we process our harvest into very special products according to recipes that we have developed. We plan to open our own farm shop, the "Tienda",  in the course of 2022. Until then, you can order our products online, and you also can find us at some of the island's weekly markets (for announcements see News section!).

Gemüse Picking

100% NATURAL
100% MAJORCA*
KM 0

From the beginning we have been managing our land according to ecological principles, since the end of 2021 we have also been officially registered as an organic farm and are currently in the two-year "conversion phase". We are also a member of APAEMA, the Majorcan organic farmers' association.

logo_apaema.jpg
bottom of page

ÜBER UNS

Can Cavall Blau:
Biolandwirtschaft als Familienbetrieb

Im ruhigen und landwirtschaftlich geprägten Inselinneren von Mallorca zwischen Sencelles und Binissalem bewirtschaften wir seit 2017 ein ca. 4 Hektar großes Stück Land. In Ergänzung zu unserer Pferdezucht kultivieren wir Wein, Oliven, Mandeln, Obstbäume und Gemüse. Besonderen Wert legen wir auf eine artgerechte Haltung unserer Tiere sowie eine nachhaltige und naturverträgliche Bodennutzung.

20211122_124237.jpg

UNSERE GESCHICHTE

Im Jahr 2017 haben wir unsere Finca übernommen, nachdem diese über mehr als 10 Jahre weitgehend unbewirtschaftet brach gelegen hatte. Sie war der ideale Ort für unsere Pferde, die neben Wasser aus dem fincaeigenen Brunnen reichlich Schatten unter alten Steineichen vorfanden. Und auch für uns, die wir fasziniert waren (und immer noch sind) von der wunderbaren Ruhe und dem traumhaften Blick über die benachbarten Weinfelder in die Tramuntana.

Nach zahlreichen Gesprächen mit unseren Nachbarn, die ihre Fincas seit vielen Jahrzehnten landwirtschaftlich bewirtschaften, sowie der intensiven Beschäftigung mit nachhaltiger Resourcennutzung und Biolandwirtschaft haben wir uns entschieden die Finca nach biologischen Grundsätzen und kleinteilig unter Anbau verschiedener Kulturen zu bewirtschaften, so wie es auf Mallorca traditionell üblich war.

Heute wachsen hier neben ca. 4000 Weinreben der autochtonen Sorte Mantonegro und Merlot mehr als 20 unterschiedliche Baumarten, insgesamt mehr als 500 Bäume. Neben Oliven (Arbequina und Picual) und Mandeln, verschiedene Zitrusarten (Orangen, Bitterorangen, Grapefruit, Zitronen, Limetten, Bergamotten), zahlreichen Granatapfelbäumen und anderen Obstbäumen auch Raritäten wie ein alter Maulbeerbaum oder "echte" Pinien. Gedüngt werden unsere Pflanzen ausschließlich mit Kompost aus hofeigenem Pferdemist. Zwischen den Bäumen ist genügend Platz für unsere Hühner, einige Gemüsebeete und auch unsere Pferde finden hier im Winterhalbjahr frisches Gras zum Weiden.

In Zusammenarbeit mit kleinen, lokalen Produzenten verarbeiten wir unsere Ernte nach von uns entwickelten Rezepten zu ganz besonderen Produkten, die wir im Direktverkauf vertreiben. Wir planen im Laufe des Jahres 2022 mit der "Tienda" unseren eigenen Hofladen zu eröffnen. Bis dahin können Sie unsere Produkte online bestellen, außerdem finden Sie uns auch einigen Wochenmärkten der Insel (Termine unter Aktuelles!).

Gemüse Picking

100% NATÜRLICH
  100% MALLORCA*

Von Beginn an bewirtschaften wir unsere Flächen nach ökologischen Grundsätzen, seit Ende 2021 sind wir auch offiziell als Biobetrieb registriert und befinden uns derzeit in der zweijährigen "Umstellungsphase". Wir sind außerdem Mitglied in der APAEMA, der mallorquinischen Biobauernvereinigung.

logo_apaema.jpg